Prevent The Mac From Remembering WiFi Networks

In my previous article I described how to Delete WiFi networks that macOS remembered. It can get kind of cluttered in that area with networks if you are using a laptop and moving around a lot. However, some people may wish to prevent their Mac from remembering WiFi networks for personal, privacy or security reasons. If you think you may need to do this at some point, then read on for the very simple instructions.

Not Remembering WiFi

If you do not wish to have your Mac remember WiFi connections, you can turn off that feature. You start in Network Preference Pane:

Network Pane

Click on “Wi-Fi” in the left margin and then on the “Advanced” button. You will be taken into this screen:

Remember Networks

The “Remember networks this computer has joined” box will probably be checked. All you have to do is uncheck that box:

Unchecked Network

When you click OK, you are taken into the main Network window. You have to click “Apply” for the changes to take place.

Conclusion

It is pretty easy to set your Mac to not remember WiFi networks. On the other hand, all you have to do to get your Mac to remember WiFi networks again is go in and check the box in the Network Preference Pane settings.