iOS Apps Spying On Your Location

It should not come as a surprise by now that business and information sellers want to know everything about us. Our information, who we are, what we like, where we are is money in this day and age. As you may know, iOS Apps can use your Location as part of how they function. Apparently, some of these Apps are selling your Location information to companies to be used for advertisers and other things to the tune of $20 Billion a year. So, can we remedy this invasion of our privacy?

Location Services

You pretty much have to go to another planet these days to completely protect your privacy. Even though the iPhone and iOS do a fair job of protecting your privacy, you and I are the bottomline here. What do I mean by that? The way we setup and use our computers and iOS devices plays some role in maintaining or not maintaining our privacy. A case in point is Location Services in iOS.

You may know this or not, but you can setup Locations Services independently for each App on your iPhone or iPad. Here is how you do that.

Go into the Privacy area of Settings to begin:

iOS Privacy Settings
iOS Privacy Settings

Just an aside before we move on, you can turn off Location Services altogether if you wish. What will happen is when you use an App that needs Location Services it will request that. Then you are always turning this service on and off, it can be quite annoying.

Once you are in Privacy, just Tap on Location Services:

Location Services
Location Services

You will be presented with a list of Apps on your iOS device that use Location Services and how they use it:

Apps List
Apps List

You can change the Setting for any or all of these Apps. The choices are Always, While Using or Never. Just tap into the App in question and choose what works best for you:

Location Services App Settings
Location Services App Settings

Most of my Apps are set to “While Using the App.” A couple are “Always” and one or two are “Never.”

Conclusion

I suppose this is no big deal, but I do not wish to give the Privacy Violators any more information than I have to. As usual, it is a balance between convenience and security. Yes, you can just turn it all off, but using the “While Using the App” setting could be a nice middle ground.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.